My August TBR

Hi everyone! As my first post on my brand new reading blog, (that may or may not still be in the progress of getting set up), I thought I would share my August 2019 TBR list! My goal for the year was to read 50 books and I read the first 25 within the first few months and then… I touched maybe five books until middle of July. So as of August 5th, I sit at 30 books.

With 20 books to go and no books to read, I decided to look into book blogs (like this one!) to find recommendations on what I should be reading! And then with a new fire, I added about 100 books to my Goodreads to read list and set off to the library and the book store. My love for books definitely got ahead of me as I bought three books and put five on hold. That’s just under half the books I need to read to finish my Goodreads challenge! Anywho! After all this rambling, let’s get into what eight books I plan to read in August.

23510106. sy475

The first book I plan to read this month is The Sister Pact By Stacie Ramey. This is one of the books I purchased and I am starting with it because I am a sucker for sister relationships. I will be doing a mini review on this one as I have actually already finished reading it!

152380

Number two is Mary Poppins By P.L. Travers! As a huge Disney fan, I finally decided to dive into the world of Mary Poppins, something I had never done before. Since we are heading to Disney later this year, I figured what better way to count down than reading books about my one of my favorite characters. This one is taking me a while to get through as I am actually reading it to a friend when she does not feel well.

18584855. sy475

Number three has got to be Heartless By Marissa Meyer. The backstory of The Queen of Hearts called to me when I saw it on many other TBR’s and recommendations. At the time I am writing this, I just watched my librarian put it on the hold shelf so I will probably start this tonight!

31351689

Number four, Girl Made of Stars By Ashley Herring Blake is one that I saw a lot of people love and a few people had this on their disappointing books lists so I am interested to see where I land with it.

36039320

As I start to wish I had kept track of where I found these books, we reach number five! This Is What It Feels Like By Rebecca Barrow. Reading the blurb on goodreads, I find myself unsure of why exactly I wanted to read this one but hey, I’ll give it a shot.

32613366. sy475

Number six I am ashamed to say, I have passed over many, many time despite only hearing good things! The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas was on so many top book lists that I just can’t ignore it anymore!

25546710. sy475

Number seven has honestly got my favorite cover of any of these and it’s The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett. The cover is absolutely what drew me to the book first. That bright, punchy yellow and the daisy, I saw this on one or two book lists and then bought it that night.

21991195. sy475

Last but not least is….. The Truth About Us by Janet Gurtler. I got this book because it was less than three dollars and I had read one book from this author before. The Goodreads page says “A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I’m Not Her that’s “Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult.” Jodi happens to be my favorite author of all time so I am excited to see how this book compares!

And that’s it! Those are my eight planned books for August! What are you reading this month? Have you read any of these books or are they on your TBR?

17 thoughts on “My August TBR

  1. I read The Sister Pact back in June! It was good! I’m just starting up my book blog too. I’m in the process of setting it up!

    Like

    1. Hey! Yeah it was a good book! I have a review that I’m writing up now. It should post on the 15th because I run a tuesday, thursday and every other saturday schedule. I will check out your blog!

      Like

      1. That’s so cool! I need to come up with a schedule! Right now I’m just posting a some of my old reviews to make it look less empty 🙂

        Like

      2. That’s cool too! Did you used to blog? I literally came up with my schedule last night, we will see how it goes. My blog is less than a week old and this week is off cause I started monday and tomorrow (friday) is apparently national book lovers day so I have a post for then.
        I checked out your TBR post but I couldn’t find the comment button!

        Like

    1. Sorry Ally! This was in my spam folder and I just saw it. I am a little under half way through and I love it so far!

      Like

      1. I actually have both out from the library right now! We could start this coming week? You can email me (rorabear143@gmail.com) if you want to talk a schedule in more depth!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: